Members' Paddock
Member No.
  Forgotten your password?


Four-times Formula 1® World Champion, five-times British Grand Prix winner and Renault ambassador Alain Prost is the latest F1® great confirmed to take part in Silverstone’s 50th Grand Prix commemorative parades at this year’s FORMULA 1 SANTANDER BRITISH GRAND PRIX (04-06 July).
Having won the British Grand Prix five times (1983, 1985, 1989, 1990 and 1993), Alain Prost is the most successful Formula 1® driver ever to have raced at Silverstone. His record of five victories is equalled only by the great Jim Clark, whose British Grand Prix wins were split between Silverstone (1963, 1965, 1967), Aintree (1962) and Brands Hatch (1964). 
The parades will take place on all three days of this year’s event, celebrating Silverstone’s 50th Grand Prix in style, as a host of motor sport greats lap the Grand Prix Circuit in cars that have helped shaped history at the famous Northamptonshire Circuit.
Prost will drive the Red Bull RB8, which was driven to victory at the 2012 British Grand Prix by Mark Webber, his second win at Silverstone. The RB8 went on to win Infiniti Red Bull Racing and Renault’s third Constructors’ World Championship that year, while Sebastian Vettel drove it to secure his third Driver’s Championship.
World Champion in 1985, 1986, 1989 and 1993, Prost drove in 199 races during an illustrious Formula 1® career, winning 51 Grands Prix, achieving 106 podium finishes and securing Pole Position 33 times. During his 13 seasons in the sport he drove for McLaren, Renault and Ferrari, before ending his career with Williams in 1993 when he secured his fourth and final World Championship.
Prost commented: “Silverstone has always been one of my favourite tracks and I have a lot of good memories there. The first time I won in 1983 with the Renault it was a very special feeling. The crowd was so loud – you could really hear their passion, even over the roar of those turbo engines!
“I was lucky enough to win another four races there and each time I was really touched by the support. British fans love their motorsport! This is one of the few things that has not changed in the 20 years since I last drove at Silverstone and I am genuinely looking forward to experiencing it one more time.”
The ‘Silverstone50’ parades are scheduled to take place on all three days of the British Grand Prix at the following times: Friday 04 July - 12:50-13:05; Saturday 05 July - 12:05-12:20; and Sunday 06 July - 11:10-11:25. Timings are provisional and subject to change.
Other legendary cars and drivers confirmed to take part in the 50th Grand Prix parades include:
• Sir Jackie Stewart, driving his 1969 British Grand Prix winning Matra MS80
• Rubens Barrichello, driving the Williams FW07b, a tribute to the 1979 British Grand Prix winning Williams FW07
• David Brabham, driving his late father Sir Jack Brabham’s 1960 British Grand Prix winning Cooper Climax T53
• Dario Franchitti in Jim Clark’s 1963 British Grand Prix winning Lotus 25
• Adrian Newey who will drive Ronnie Peterson’s March 711 from 1971
Further drivers and cars will be announced in due course.
The 2014 FORMULA 1 SANTANDER BRITISH GRAND PRIX will be the 50th Grand Prix to be held at Silverstone since Luigi Villoresi won the first ever event on 02 October 1948, two years before the inauguration of the FIA Formula One World Championship in 1950.
Tickets for the 2014 FORMULA 1 SANTANDER BRITISH GRAND PRIX are available from £65pp and are on sale 24 hours a day, seven days a week. Visit for more information or call 0844 3728 300.
Please visit the ‘Silverstone50’ website for more information on this year’s celebrations here:
Silverstone has also produced a special film to commemorate its 50th Grand Prix here:
For official 2014 Formula 1® hospitality enquiries, call 0844 3728 230.

The Club regrets to report on the death of Neville Hay, who was elected as a BRDC Member in 1993
The Club regrets to report on the death of Alan Minshaw, who was elected as a BRDC Member in 1984
The Club regrets to report on the death of Ray Thackwell who was elected as a BRDC Member in 1957
© British Racing Drivers' Club & mso | Copyright | Privacy | Sitemap | Anti Slavery Policy | Home