Members' Paddock
Member No.
  Forgotten your password?


The final 10 candidates for the 2019 Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Young Driver of the Year Award have been selected.

The Award, which started in 1989, aims to find and assist the best junior British racing drivers. Aston Martin joined the Award this year and the prize for the 2019 winner includes £200,000 and a test drive with the Aston Martin Red Bull Racing F1 team.

Finalists have to be primarily competing in a category below FIA Formula 3, and be 16 years old by the time of the Award tests at Silverstone in October. They must also be under 24 at the start of the relevant year.

This year’s final 10 are Japanese F3 race winner Enaam Ahmed, Formula Regional Europe racer Olli Caldwell, W Series champion Jamie Chadwick, British F4 winners Louis Foster, Josh Skelton and Luke Browning, BRDC F3 frontrunners Johnathan Hoggard, Ayrton Simmons and Kiern Jewiss, and Euroformula Open race winner Billy Monger.

They will be invited to an event hosted by the Awards team, when the four finalists will be announced.

British Racing Drivers’ Club Vice President and F1 driver steward Derek Warwick is the chairman of the judging panel, which includes Award winners Darren Turner, Andrew Kirkaldy and Alexander Sims, double British Touring Car champion Jason Plato, successful Lola and McLaren designer Mark Williams, top engineer Leena Gade, leading commentator Ian Titchmarsh and Autosport magazine editor Kevin Turner.

After two days of testing at Silverstone, in a range of machinery including MotorSport Vision Formula 2 cars, a Ligier LMP3 sportscar and Aston Martin Vantage GT3 racers, the winner will be announced at the Autosport Awards on 8 December.

A short statement from the BRDC regarding the death of HRH The Prince Philip, Duke of Edinburgh KG KT
We very much regret to inform Members that John Bute, better known within the motor racing fraternity as Johnny Dumfries, died yesterday after a short illness.
It is with great regret that we have to inform Members of the death of Peter Browning who passed away last Sunday 14 March.
© British Racing Drivers' Club & mso | Copyright | Privacy | Sitemap | Home