Members' Paddock
Member No.
  Forgotten your password?


David Coulthard MBE, has been elected as President of the British Racing Drivers’ Club by Members during the Club’s Annual General Meeting which took place at Silverstone Circuit on Tuesday 24 September.  David takes over from Paddy Hopkirk MBE, who committed to take on the role for a two-year period in 2017.

David Coulthard has been a Member of the BRDC since 1989 when he won the British Formula Ford Championship and became the first recipient of the prestigious BRDC McLaren Autosport Award.  Since then he has gone on to compete at the highest levels of motorsport winning the Macau F3 Grand Prix in 1991, joining Williams F1 as a test driver in 1993 before becoming a full-time driver for the team in 1994, and going on to finish third in the World Championship in 1995.  Moving to McLaren in 1997, David scored 12 of his 13 Formula 1 wins with the team and was runner up to Michael Schumacher in the 2001 FIA Formula 1 World Championship.

By the time David moved to Red Bull Racing in 2005 he had achieved 13 Formula 1 wins and 62 podium finishes.  During his three years at Red Bull, David become the highest scoring British driver of all time with a total of 535 race points.  Since retiring as a Formula 1 driver David has used his talents in the business arena and has started, and continues to remain involved with, a number of successful enterprises.  In addition to his commentating duties, David has been a supporter of and ambassador for the W Series since its launch in October 2018.

During the AGM the BRDC Members also elected Dario Franchitti MBE, as Vice President of the Club in recognition of his extraordinary achievements as a driver which include winning the IndyCar Championship four times, the Indianapolis 500 three times and the Daytona 24 Hours.

Speaking at the BRDC AGM on Tuesday, John Grant, Chairman of the BRDC, said “I and my fellow Board Members are delighted to welcome David Coulthard as President of the BRDC.  We are confident that, in David, we have a President who is not only a greatly talented racing driver but also a successful businessman with an enviable network of contacts in the motorsport world which, together with his experience, should be of great benefit to the Club.

“I would also like to take this opportunity to thank Paddy for the enormous personal commitment he has given to the BRDC over the last two years in fulfilling the role of BRDC President, adding value to our Club that would not have happened without the immense energy and personal reputation he has brought to the task.  I am delighted that he has agreed to become once again a Vice President of the BRDC.

“We also welcome Dario Franchitti MBE who deservedly becomes a Vice President of our Club and joins an illustrious line up of names that have competed at the highest level of our sport and made a massive contribution to the world of motor racing.”

The Club regrets to report on the death of Neville Hay, who was elected as a BRDC Member in 1993
The Club regrets to report on the death of Alan Minshaw, who was elected as a BRDC Member in 1984
The Club regrets to report on the death of Ray Thackwell who was elected as a BRDC Member in 1957
© British Racing Drivers' Club & mso | Copyright | Privacy | Sitemap | Anti Slavery Policy | Home