Members' Paddock
Member No.
  Forgotten your password?


The presence of recently-crowned FIA World Endurance Champions, BRDC Members Mark Webber and Brendon Hartley, was one of the main highlights of the Club’s Annual Awards at the Grand Connaught Rooms in London’s Covent Garden on 7 December.

Porsche’s first world champions since Derek Bell in 1986 received special BRDC Gold Stars from the Club’s President, Derek Warwick, for their achievement and we were delighted that they were joined by their team mate, Timo Bernhard.  Along with many of the leading lights from British and Commonwealth motor sport, they made the occasion a great success as the Club’s prestigious and historic awards were presented, with the proceedings once again compered by Jake Humphrey.

Although Lewis Hamilton had another commitment which prevented him from collecting his two Gold Stars, BTCC star Jason Plato was there to receive the BRDC Silver Star to swell his collection to eight as the Member achieving the most points in the major national championships.  Coincidentally Lewis now has eight Gold Stars, exceeded only by Sir Stirling Moss with 10.

Another highlight was the presence of the 2015 McLaren Autosport BRDC Young Driver of the Year, Will Palmer, who was still on a high following the announcement at the Autosport Awards the previous evening . Will also collected the newly instigated Jim Clark Trophy as winner of the Duo BRDC Formula 4 championship  alongside many high-achieving BRDC Members who have enjoyed outstanding success this year in single seater categories worldwide including Oliver Rowland and Nick Cassidy. 

Le Mans 24 Hours winner Nick Tandy received a great reception as he was presented with the ACO Plate by the President of the Automobile Club de l’Ouest Pierre Fillon, while young Charlie Robertson, winner last year of the Henry Surtees Award, now received the ERA Club Trophy in recognition of his European Le Mans Series LMP3 championship.

Sir Stirling and Lady Moss, Damon Hill, Nigel Mansell, John Surtees, Martin Donnelly and recently announced 2016 Lotus Formula 1 driver, Jolyon Palmer joined over 300 guests for the sparkling event.
The full list of award winners is:


The John Cooper Trophy - George Russell
for a GP3 or FIA European Formula 3 driver with the potential to become a future world champion

The Spencer Charington Trophy - Jake Dennis
for the highest-placed British driver in the FIA European Formula 3 Championship

The Richard Seaman Trophy - Jake Dennis
for the best placed BRDC member in Gold Star points outside Formula One

The Nigel Moores Trophy - Richard Dutton
for the most meritorious performance in international motor racing by a private entrant

The Fairfield trophy - Oliver Rowland
Awarded for an outstanding performance  by a BRDC member

The ACO Plate - Nick Tandy
on behalf of the Automobile Club De L’Ouest to the highest placed British driver at the Le Mans 24 hour race

The Silverstone – Le Mans Challenge - Audi: Andre Lotterer, Marcel Fassler, Benoit Treluyer
for the driver or team achieving the highest combined finishing record of the Silverstone LMS race and the Le Mans 24 Hour race

The Earl Howe Trophy - Richard Westbrook
for the British driver delivering the most meritorious performance of the year in North America

The John Cobb Trophy - Jon Lancaster
for a success of outstanding character achieved by a British driver, in a British car

The Woolf Barnato Trophy - Team JOTA Sport: Oliver Turvey, Mitch Evans and Simon Dolan
To the highest placed British driver or team in the Le Mans 24 hour race

The Colin Chapman Trophy - Oliver Gavin
a special BRDC award to an individual displaying great team sprit be it a driver, team owner or engineer

The Innes Ireland Award - Daniel Ricciardo
for the driver best displaying qualities of courage and sportsmanship epitomised by the late Innes Ireland

The Henry Surtees Award - Jack Aitken
for the most outstanding performance by a BRDC Rising Star

The Sir Jackie Stewart Award - James Allison
for a motorsport engineer who has shown brilliance during the course of the season

The Bruce McLaren Trophy - Nick Cassidy
for the Commonwealth driver establishing the most meritorious performances in international motor racing

The Duo BRDC Formula 4 Championship Trophy - Will Palmer
for the winner of the BRDC Formula 4 Championship

The Chris Bristow Trophy - Will Palmer
for the winner of the McLaren Autosport BRDC Young Driver of the Year Award

The Graham Hill Trophy - Lewis Hamilton MBE
for the most meritorious performance by a British driver in single seater racing

The Johnny Wakefield Trophy - Lewis Hamilton MBE
for the fastest lap of the season at Silverstone Grand Prix circuit

BRDC Silver Star - Jason Plato
for the strongest performance of the year by a Member in domestic championships (Points accumulation)

Special Gold Star - Mark Webber and Brendon Hartley
for Members winning the FIA World Endurance Championship

BRDC Gold Star - Lewis Hamilton MBE
for the strongest performance of the year by a Member in international championships (Points accumulation)

The Club regrets to report on the death of Neville Hay, who was elected as a BRDC Member in 1993
The Club regrets to report on the death of Alan Minshaw, who was elected as a BRDC Member in 1984
The Club regrets to report on the death of Ray Thackwell who was elected as a BRDC Member in 1957
© British Racing Drivers' Club & mso | Copyright | Privacy | Sitemap | Anti Slavery Policy | Home