Members' Paddock
Member No.
  Forgotten your password?


Following the BRDC’s Annual General Meeting (AGM) on Thursday 25 August 2011 we are delighted to announce that Derek Warwick has been elected as BRDC President, taking over the role from Damon Hill OBE.

Speaking at the AGM, shortly after being confirmed as BRDC President, Derek said: “First and foremost I would like to thank Damon for the loyalty and commitment he has shown to the BRDC during his time as President. He steered us through some difficult, but ultimately successful times and my aim is to continue where Damon left off.

“The BRDC and Silverstone face an exciting future. We now have a 21st century race circuit with 21st century facilities; over the next 5-10 years we have the opportunity to continue developing Silverstone into the best motor sport venue in the world.

“The immediate focus is on securing third party investment in Silverstone, to realise the full potential of the 760 acre Estate. While the President is a non-voting member of the BRDC Board, I will continue to work closely with the Board as we seek and consider opportunities with suitable third parties.

“I am also passionate about supporting our young British drivers. It is important to me that the Club is a place that young drivers want to come to. Us older Members are the heart and soul of the BRDC, but the younger drivers are our future. That’s why I’ll remain very much involved with programmes such as the BRDC SuperStars, BRDC Rising Stars and McLaren Autosport BRDC Young Driver of the Year, of which I am Chairman.

“We should not take it for granted that we’ll always have British drivers competing at the highest level. The BRDC is a key stakeholder in British motor sport and as President of the Club I have a responsibility to make sure we are doing our bit, along with other stakeholders, such as the F1 teams, the MSA, MIA and RAC, to support and develop young British talent.”

Reflecting on his time as BRDC President and Derek Warwick’s appointment, Damon Hill said: “I would like to express my gratitude to the BRDC for having had me as their President, and for all that it has done to help make my term as fruitful and enjoyable as possible.

“The Club has a unique place in motor sport and is respected around the world. I am very glad to have had the opportunity to work to develop and protect that reputation, together with my fellow Members and Board Directors.

“Derek Warwick has lived the life of a professional racing driver and reached the very top of his profession. He knows what it takes to win, and he knows what if feels like to lose. I believe that this Club should always have at its helm a racing driver who has lived that life. Derek will, I have absolutely no doubt, serve this Club with the same determination and integrity with which he displayed to the world as a professional racing driver.

“Many congratulations to Derek on becoming the next BRDC President. I wish him and the Club every success for the future.”

BRDC Chairman Stuart Rolt, added, “The BRDC Board was unanimous in its support for Derek and we are delighted that he has been elected to take over from Damon. In Derek we have another hugely experienced, yet down to earth, genuine racer. The Club will continue to go from strength to strength.

“In addition to his achievements as a driver and recent work as a Director of the BRDC, Derek has also run touring car teams in both Great Britain and Australia, is a long serving member of the MSA Safety Committee and currently works as an FIA Driver Steward at a number of Formula 1 Grands Prix. He has also been heavily involved in the management of the BRDC SuperStars programme.”

Former BRDC President, Sir Jackie Stewart, also voiced his support for Derek’s appointment: “It's very important for the BRDC to have a President who has achieved at the highest level in motor sport. Derek Warwick fits the bill; not only on that criteria, but he also has a good understanding of business. An excellent combination for the Club.”

The Club regrets to report on the death of Neville Hay, who was elected as a BRDC Member in 1993
The Club regrets to report on the death of Alan Minshaw, who was elected as a BRDC Member in 1984
The Club regrets to report on the death of Ray Thackwell who was elected as a BRDC Member in 1957
© British Racing Drivers' Club & mso | Copyright | Privacy | Sitemap | Anti Slavery Policy | Home