Members' Paddock
Member No.
  Forgotten your password?


The presence of recently-crowned Formula One World Champion, Nico Rosberg, was a key highlight of the Club’s Annual Awards, hosted and compered by Jake Humphrey at the Grand Connaught Rooms in London’s Covent Garden. Nico received the Johnny Wakefield Trophy for the fastest lap of the year on Silverstone's Grand Prix circuit and was also presented with Honorary membership of the Club by BRDC President, Derek Warwick.

Mercedes AMG Petronas Formula One Team’s Executive Director, Paddy Lowe, collected the Sir Jackie Stewart Award for his engineering brilliance that led to a third consecutive Formula One Constructors Championship. Formula One drivers Lewis Hamilton MBE and Daniel Ricciardo sent messages of appreciation for their Awards whilst BTCC star Colin Turkington was there to receive the second BRDC Silver Star of his career as the Member achieving the most points in the major national championships.

Star of the future, Lando Norris had been announced the 2016 winner of the McLaren Autosport BRDC Young Driver of the Year competition at the previous evening’s Autosport Awards and he added to his trophy collection with the Chris Bristow Trophy and the Henry Surtees Award.

The BRDC were also delighted to welcome Porsche’s World Endurance Champions Romain Dumas, Neel Jani and Marc Lieb as its guests to receive the coveted Silverstone-Le Mans Challenge Trophy, as well as reflect on a superb year in a category of motor racing very close to the heart of the BRDC and the Members who join the Club’s list of award winners thanks to their achievements in sports car and GT endurance racing in 2016.

The event concluded with the presentation of an Honorary BRDC membership to motorcycle road racing legend John McGuinness, a very special accolade as the only other Member recognised for their outright achievements on a motorcycle is Valentino Rossi.

Fellow BRDC Members Ed Jones, Alexander Albon, George Russell and Jann Mardenborough were also honoured with BRDC awards having, achieved notable success this year in single seater championships worldwide. Sir Stirling Moss OBE and Lady Moss, Damon Hill OBE, Nigel Mansell CBE, Sir Chris Hoy MBE and 2017 Renault Sport Formula One Team driver Jolyon Palmer joined over 300 guests to celebrate at this exclusive event which also supported the BRDC Benevolent Fund. Thanks to the generosity of the Members and guests in attendance, £5,000 was raised which will go towards providing assistance to people in the motor sport industry during times of need.


The full list of 2016 BRDC Annual Awards winners is:

The John Cooper Trophy – Lance Stroll
For a GP3 or FIA European Formula 3 driver with the potential to become a future World Champion

The Spencer Charrington Trophy – George Russell
For the highest-placed British driver in the FIA European Formula 3 Championship

The Richard Seaman Trophy – Jann Mardenborough
For the best placed BRDC member in Gold Star points outside Formula One

The Nigel Moores Trophy – Tom Ferrier (TF Sport)
For the most meritorious performance in international motor racing by a private entrant

The Fairfield Trophy – Oliver Gavin
For an outstanding performance by a BRDC Member

The ACO Plate – Mike Conway
On behalf of the Automobile Club De L’Ouest to the highest placed British driver at the Le Mans 24 Hour race

The Silverstone–Le Mans Challenge – Porsche: Romain Dumas, Neel Jani & Marc Lieb
For the driver or team achieving the highest combined finishing record of the Silverstone LMS race and the Le Mans 24 Hour race

The Earl Howe Trophy – Ed Jones
For the British driver delivering the most meritorious performance of the year in North America

The John Cobb Memorial Trophy – Simon Dolan & Harry Tincknell
For a success of outstanding character achieved by a British driver, in a British car

The Woolf Barnato Trophy – Strakka Racing: Nick Leventis, Jonny Kane & Danny Watts
To the highest placed British driver or team, in a British car, in the Le Mans 24 Hour race

The Colin Chapman Trophy – Darren Turner
A special BRDC award to an individual displaying great team sprit be it a driver, team owner or engineer

The ERA Club Trophy – Rob Bell
For the British driver, driving a British car, establishing the most meritorious performance in the year outside of the UK

The Innes Ireland Trophy – Josef Newgarden
For the driver best displaying qualities of courage and sportsmanship epitomised by the late Innes Ireland

The Henry Surtees Award – Lando Norris
For the most outstanding performance by a BRDC Rising Star

The Sir Jackie Stewart Award – Paddy Lowe
For a motorsport engineer who has shown brilliance during the course of the season

The Bruce McLaren Trophy – Daniel Ricciardo
For the Commonwealth driver establishing the most meritorious performances in international motor racing

The Jim Clark Trophy – Matheus Leist
For the winner of the BRDC British Formula 3 Championship

The Chris Bristow Trophy – Lando Norris
For the winner of the McLaren Autosport BRDC Young Driver of the Year Award

The Graham Hill Trophy – Alexander Albon
For the most meritorious performance by a British driver in single seater racing

The Johnny Wakefield Trophy – Nico Rosberg
For the fastest lap of the season at Silverstone Grand Prix circuit

BRDC Silver Star – Colin Turkington
For the strongest performance of the year by a Member in domestic championships (Points accumulation)

BRDC Gold Star – Lewis Hamilton MBE
For the strongest performance of the year by a Member in international championships (Points accumulation)

The Club regrets to report on the death of Neville Hay, who was elected as a BRDC Member in 1993
The Club regrets to report on the death of Alan Minshaw, who was elected as a BRDC Member in 1984
The Club regrets to report on the death of Ray Thackwell who was elected as a BRDC Member in 1957
© British Racing Drivers' Club & mso | Copyright | Privacy | Sitemap | Anti Slavery Policy | Home