Members' Paddock
Member No.
  Forgotten your password?


The Club are delighted to share details of this year’s BRDC Annual Award winners

After some careful thought and consideration at the most recent BRDC Board meeting, the decision was made to cancel the BRDC Annual Awards Lunch due to be held today (Monday 20 December) at the London Marriott on Grosvenor Square.  This was in light of growing concern for the health and wellbeing of our many Members and guests who were due to attend.  On what would have been our day of celebration, the BRDC would like to highlight the wonderful achievements of our Members, BRDC Young Drivers, and other people from within our sport.

At the end of a year in which 42 different championships have been won by BRDC Members, BRDC SuperStars and BRDC Rising Stars, it is a great time to reflect on how much of a contribution Great Britain and the Commonwealth continues to make to global motor sport.  Furthermore, it is immensely pleasing to see the sheer number of drivers associated with the BRDC, in particular, who have been involved with those various success stories.  Congratulation again to all of our Members and BRDC Young Drivers who have secured championships in 2021.

Followers of the BRDC’s Annual Awards will be familiar with the fact that there is a specific criteria for each Award and great heritage that comes with it.  Our 2021 winners join an exclusive part of the Club’s history, although it is with obvious disappointment that we have not been able to celebrate with them in person this year.  Some honourable mentions, from the list below, include the awarding of the BRDC Gold Medal to Sir Lewis Hamilton MBE in recognition of becoming the first Formula One driver ever to surpass 100 Grand Prix race victories.  On the topic of Formula One, the Sir Jackie Stewart Award would have been jointly presented to Peter Bonnington and Gianpiero Lambiase today in recognition of the part they both played as race engineers to Lewis Hamilton and Max Verstappen, respectively, in the enticing battle for the Formula One Drivers’ World Championship.  Mike Conway would have also received the ACO Plate as the highest-placed BRDC Member in the Le Mans 24 Hour race, and a BRDC Special Gold Star in recognition of winning the FIA Hypercar World Endurance Championship; as well as many more great drivers being recognised for their fantastic achievements.

The full list of 2021 BRDC Annual Awards winners is:

BRDC Special Achievement Award – James Calado
In recognition of a special achievement in motor sport in becoming FIA GT World Endurance Champion.

The Nigel Moores Trophy – AF Corse
For the most meritorious performance in international motor racing by a private entrant.

The John Cooper Trophy – Jack Doohan
Awarded to the highest placed British or Commonwealth driver in the FIA Formula 3 Championship.

The Bruce McLaren Trophy – Oscar Piastri
Awarded to the BRDC Member from the Commonwealth who has established the most meritorious performance in international motor racing.

The Richard Seaman Trophy – Nick Tandy
For the highest-placed BRDC Member in the BRDC Gold Star points competition outside of Formula One.

The Henry Surtees Award – Ollie Bearman
For the most outstanding performance by a BRDC Rising Star.

The Johnny Wakefield Trophy – Sergio Pérez
For the fastest lap of the season at Silverstone Grand Prix circuit.

The Sir Jackie Stewart Award – Peter Bonnington and Gianpiero Lambiase
For a motor sport engineer who has shown brilliance during the course of the season.

The Earl Howe Trophy – Michael Lyons
Awarded to a BRDC Member for the most outstanding performance of the year in Historic racing.

The Innes Ireland Trophy – Jeff Smith
For the driver best displaying qualities of courage and sportsmanship epitomised by the late Innes Ireland.

The John Cobb Memorial Trophy – Lando Norris
For a success of outstanding character achieved by a British driver, in a British car.

The Fairfield Trophy – George Russell
For an outstanding performance by a BRDC Member.

The Jim Clark Trophy – Zak O’Sullivan
For the winner of the GB3 Championship partnered by the BRDC.

The Woolf Barnato Trophy – Andrew Watson
Awarded to the highest-placed British and/or Commonwealth driver, in a British car, in the Le Mans 24-Hour Race, classified as a finisher.

The Colin Chapman Trophy – Adrian Newey
A special BRDC award to an individual displaying great team spirit be it a driver, team owner or engineer.

BRDC Silver Star – Ash Sutton
For the strongest performance of the year by a Member in domestic championships (Points accumulation).

BRDC President’s Award – Jean Todt
In recognition of his dedicated service, and all that he achieved, during his Presidency of the FIA.

The ACO Plate – Mike Conway
On behalf of the Automobile Club De L’Ouest to the highest placed British driver at the Le Mans 24 Hour race.

Special BRDC Gold Star – Mike Conway
BRDC Member winning the FIA Hypercar World Endurance Championship.

The Graham Hill Trophy – Sir Lewis Hamilton MBE
For the most meritorious performance by a British driver in single seater racing.

BRDC Gold Star – Sir Lewis Hamilton MBE
For the strongest performance of the year by a Member in international championships (Points accumulation).

BRDC Gold Medal – Sir Lewis Hamilton MBE
The BRDC’s highest recognition of achievement in, and contribution to, the Club and the sport of motor racing.  Awarded in 2021 to acknowledge the outstanding feat of becoming the first ever Formula One driver to surpass 100 Grand Prix race victories.

The BRDC would still like to extend its thanks to the following organisations for, what would have been, their generous support of the event today:

Headline Sponsor

Table Wine Sponsor
AC Entertainment Technologies Ltd

BRDC Young Driver Patrons
AC Entertainment Technologies Ltd, Immun’Age, Sloane Helicopters, Tysers and Zurich Insurance


GB3 Championship race winner Joseph Loake named as the 34th winner of the prestigious Young Driver of the Year Award.
The Club regrets to report the death of John Turner, who was elected as a BRDC Member in 1977
Over 310 guests assembled in London to celebrate the successes of BRDC Members, SuperStars and Rising Stars on Monday 4 December
© British Racing Drivers' Club & mso | Copyright | Privacy | Sitemap | Anti Slavery Policy | Home